Three Roosevelt County Detention Center Staff Retire, Deputy Transfers Departments

The Roosevelt County Commissioners held their regular meeting in Wolf Point Tuesday, Feb. 26. Commissioners Gary Macdonald, Duane Nygaard and Gordon Oelkers were in attendance.
Minutes were approved for the Feb. 19 regular meeting and a special administrative meeting held Feb. 20.
At the latter meeting, the commissioners approved a resolution canceling real property taxes that have been delinquent for 10 years or more.
Oelkers estimated the amount canceled at well under $3,000. The commissioners explained that canceling some delinquent tax bills is preferable to the acquisition of damaged, dangerous or condemned properties.
During the public comment period, local resident Bill Juve expressed thanks to county roads personnel for plowing Rodeo Road in Wolf Point.
February claims were accepted in the amount of $68,627.83.
Three resignations/retirements from the Roosevelt County Detention Center were accepted by the commissioners. Brian Nelson, Christopher Allen and Joshua Miller will no longer be on staff with the facility. Commissioner Macdonald expressed the commissioners’ thanks for their combined years on the job.
One staff transfer was approved by the commissioners. Clay McGeshick will be leaving the Roosevelt County Sheriff’s Office and transferring to the maintenance department to fill a vacant custodial position effective March 1.